top of page

Marsha Moses Ph.D. Elected to American Academy of Arts and Sciences


Four HMS Faculty recognized for accomplishments, leadership

“We are celebrating a depth of achievements in a breadth of areas,” said academy president David Oxtoby.

“These individuals excel in ways that excite us and inspire us at a time when recognizing excellence, commending expertise, and working toward the common good is absolutely essential to realizing a better future,” he said.

The four honorees from HMS include:

Gordon Freeman, professor of medicine at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Chenghua Gu, professor of neurobiology in the Blavatnik Institute at HMS

Matthew Meyerson, professor of genetics at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Marsha Moses, the Julia Dyckman Andrus Professor of Surgery at HMS and Boston Children’s Hospital

Founded in 1780, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences is an honorary society and independent policy research center that honors excellence and engages leaders from various disciplines to provide solutions to complex challenges facing the world.

The new members from HMS join a distinguished group of individuals elected to the academy before them, including Charles Darwin, Albert Einstein, Margaret Mead, and Stephen Hawking.

Adapted from American Academy of Arts and Sciences communications materials.


bottom of page